A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

May 18, 2006

Filed under: Madelyn — adayinthelifeofaross @ 1:17 pm


” For you shall go out in joy and be led forth in peace; the mountains and the hills before you shall break forth into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.” Isaiah 55:12

Almost every day between 7:30-8:00 in the morning I am greeted by the same two sounds…Madelyn’s feet thumping her crib matress, and high-pitched squeals and giggles. Madelyn is joyful. It’s funny, I thought I would be the one doing the teaching, and my children would be the ones doing the learning. Though Madelyn is only 7 months old, I have learned volumes from her, specifically about joy. Each and every day I am bombared with smiles and giggles, grins and belly-laughs, shrieks and squeals of delight, often accompianed with kicking legs and flailing arms. She is an example to me of a person just happy to be alive! Madelyn, through God’s common grace, is able to be joyful regardless of her circumstances. Now, don’t get me wrong, this baby does indeed cry, sometimes even out of anger and frustration, but often during these times she still laughs and smiles! This is funny to witness because she will often cry, laugh, scream, and squeal all within the matter of seconds! (And always to the confusion of her parents!) I think God is using these moments and Madelyn’s example to show me where I am lacking joy in my life. Joy, regardless of circumstances. Though Madelyn is not finding her joy, as of yet, in salvation, God calls me to this standard. Regardless of the sin in my life, the ungodly desires or wants that I have, I should have joy in the knowledge that I am saved and loved by God. Yes, even the foot thumping, arms wailing, squealing, shrieking joy that my little daughter so readily exhibits. Thank you Maddie Moo. It’s my prayer that more and more each day, I will be a wife and mommy who is ever joyful…and boy, do I have so so much to be joyful about!

 

Leave a Reply

