A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 7, 2006

Filed under: Family — adayinthelifeofaross @ 7:15 pm

A Break from Maddie to Honor her Daddy…


I’m taking a little break from remembering some of our favorite memories of Madelyn to instead honor my husband, and Maddie’s daddy, Benjamin. Tomorrow is Ben’s 27th birthday and I’ve decided to spend a little time writing about what a blessing he has been in our lives.

“Let love be genuine….Do not be slothful in zeal, be fervent in spirit, serve the Lord. Rejoice in hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.” (Romans 12:9,11-12)

By God’s grace, this verse is one that I see readily exhibited in Ben’s life. Ben genuinely loves his wife and children. Unlike the worldly standard set for men, Ben very frequently, specifically, and openly expresses his love for us.

Over the past 4 years of our marriage, I have seen Ben fight the temptation of slothfulness, and instead “put on” a zeal for serving the Lord. Ben is such an example to me specifically in the area of boldly proclaiming Jesus to his friends, family, co-workers, and students. And he does this with joy, not out of a feeling of duty or guilt. Ben is a servant in the home. This month has been a difficult one for me physically–the typical tiredness from pregnancy has been combined with a sprained ankle and injured back, and yet Ben has not once complained. He joyfully has served Madelyn and me, often “making” dinner, caring for Madelyn, picking up around the house, and giving me many “back scratchies!” During these times I have constantly found him “rejoic(ing) in hope, be(ing) patient in tribulation, and be(ing) constant in prayer.”

Ben has been such a help to me in my own walk with the Lord. He leads me in such a gentle and humble way to God’s truth. He encourages me when in need, challenges me when in need, and does it all in such a God-glorifying way. Apart from the gift I have received in salvation, Ben is the most dear and precious gift to me. I cannot imagine God creating a more “perfect-for-me” husband!

Happy birthday, Benjamin. We love you! Thank you for the way you care for, lead, and serve our family, all for God’s glory.

 

Leave a Reply

