A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 25, 2006

Filed under: Madelyn,Mommy-ing — adayinthelifeofaross @ 5:33 pm


Jesus Loves Me…and my Little Bookworm

Ben’s parents recently gave Madelyn a little book that plays the song “Jesus Loves Me.” To be honest, the moment I saw this book I knew we were in for trouble. This is because Madelyn LOVES to read. She will ask me to read her the same book over and over and over again, sometimes up to ten or more times in a row. Because I am often suckered into this routine by her charm and good looks, I find that a book that was once cute or funny, in the matter of a few minutes, turns into the most annoying book ever written. Her new “Jesus Loves Me” book, I thought, would be no exception. However, I found today that by the 7th or 8th time I heard the piercing, tinny tune of “Jesus Loves Me,” I started getting really affected. Now those of you who know me well, are probably attributing this to pregnancy hormones (I have been crying a lot lately over silly things!) but I would rather attribute it to the song’s simple yet essential truth. “Jesus loves me.” He loves me… the one who caused him to die on the cross because of my sins, sins that I have loved committing. He loves me…the one who is often too proud or aware of my reputation than to tell others about him. He loves me…the one who would often much rather serve myself than serve him. I simply cannot believe that he loves me. So, I think that’s probably why during the chorus of the song when it says “yes Jesus loves me, yes Jesus loves me, yes Jesus loves me,” I had a hard time keeping it together. Jesus, thank you for loving me, and thank you for loving my little Maddie, too.

 

Leave a Reply

