A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 23, 2007

Filed under: Anderson,Mommy-ing — adayinthelifeofaross @ 11:49 am

Satisfied in Him
“Christ is glorious so that rich or poor, sick or sound, we might be satisfied in Him.” John Piper, Seeing and Savoring Jesus Christ

Yesterday I read this quote in Piper’s book and it instantly hit me as a verse I should be thinking about throughout my day. Our little Anderson has thrush. Thrush is a yeast infection of the mouth…the poor little guy has raised patches of white on his tongue that can be painful and cause difficulty eating. Thankfully it doesn’t seem to be hindering AJ’s appetite or ability to eat–so for that we are very grateful! He wasn’t responding to his medication though, so the doctor recently gave him another 10 days of medication and put me on two forms of medication, thinking that I keep infecting him with thrush after each feeding. (Thrush can sometimes be transmitted through breastmilk) During this time, I need to be reminded that my satisfaction and contentment can only be found in Christ…regardless of whether or not AJ and I are healed of thrush. Piper’s words are comforting, but also challenging. Am I truly finding satisfaction in Him or do I find my contentment in how smoothly the days go, according to my plans? I am so thankful for the way God uses the wisdom of godly men and women in my life for my sanctification. Thank you, Lord!

 

Leave a Reply

