A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

August 24, 2007

Filed under: Pastors College — adayinthelifeofaross @ 12:00 am

Ladies Luncheon
Today marked our first official Pastors College event…this one was just for the ladies! We met at a beautiful home for a wonderfully prepared ‘getting-to-know-you’ luncheon. Something that Ben and I continue to love about Sovereign Grace functions is how intentional they are. Nothing just haphazardly falls into place…everything was specifically prepared for a specific purpose. Betsy Ricucci and Julie Purswell hosted the event and they began our time with brief introductions. After prayer we ate and talked with one another. The question posed during our conversation was “What was your journey to the Pastors College?” I loved hearing all of the ways that God worked in the lives of the ladies around me. After lunch a few of last years wives shared about the challenges, joys, and suprises of their Pastors College experience. How encouraging to hear from women who have gone before and not only survived, but thrived! Afterwards we were given two books that we will be discussing throughout our small groups as ladies: Mrs. C.H. Spurgeon and Shopping for Time by Carolyn Mahaney and her daughters Nicole Whitacre, Kristin Chesemore, and Janelle Bradshaw. When I got home, I excitedly showed the books to Ben…one which I’ve already read and loved (Mrs. Spurgeon) and one I’ve been hoping to soon read (Shopping for Time). As I went to show him the latter, I discovered it had been autographed to me by Carolyn and her daughters! Ben, of course, suggested I put it on EBay 🙂 My only questions is this: Why didn’t I get an autograph from Suzannah Spurgeon? What’s up with that? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

