A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 31, 2008

Filed under: Anderson,Hubby — adayinthelifeofaross @ 1:02 pm

A.J. Memory #7–Daddy’s Tribute: Daddy’s Little Buddy

Although Kelly is a much better blogger than I am, I didn’t want to miss a chance to thank God for giving us the last 12 months with AJ. As the months have gone by and AJ has become more and more personable I have realized in greater degree what a gift from God it is for a daddy to have son. I noticed early on that being a father to a son even feels different. Although Madelyn is almost two and half, when I say “How is my little baby?,” both of the kids know I am talking to my little princess. AJ is not my baby, but my rough and tough little man. When he sits down on my lap to watch sports or when I am just holding him and looking into his eyes I feel like he knows that we are buddies and belong to a common fraternity. He already loves sliding the small basketball I bought for him back and forth on the floor and I can only imagine being in the back yard playing catch or him breaking my ribs playing basketball like I did to my dad when I was young.

I have loved reading Kelly’s posts as she has reflected back on the little man’s first year, there has been plenty of opportunity to trust in God and watch Him care and provide for us and for AJ. It’s funny how looking back has gotten me even more excited for the future. I can’t wait to care for AJ over the coming years, to Lord willing be a Christ-like example of what a man should look like, to confess sin with him, and point out evidences of grace in his life, to read Spurgeon, Owen, and Piper with him, to laugh together and to enjoy Madelyn and Mommy’s yummy food together on his Super Bowl Sunday birthday.

Thank you Lord for all the great memories I have shared with AJ this year, I pray that there will be many more in the years to come.

 

Leave a Reply

