A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 27, 2008

Filed under: Mommy-ing,Pastors College — adayinthelifeofaross @ 1:19 am

JOY!

I’ve been thinking a lot about joy lately. Did you ever have those moments when it feels like everything you read, see, hear, all seem to tie into this one “thing” in your life. I think God knows He needs to make lessons pretty obvious for me sometimes! Thats how “joy” has been for me lately. Its an ongoing topic for Ben and I since we’ve had children. I’ve realized (through Ben’s gentle questioning) that my joy is often found in what kind of day my kids are having. Ben would come home and ask me how my day was, and often, if it was a “bad” day I’d have a “bad” answer to his question! If Madelyn was struggling with obedience, throwing tantrums, choosing anger, I’d find myself lacking joy. If A.J. was sick again, teething and fussy, waking through the night, I’d find myself lacking joy.

I definately have not mastered this area of temptation, but I’ve now noticed new areas of temptation in regards to joy. Over the past few months I have been experiencing some pain in my joints. As of now its nothing severe, but its just enough to remind me of my frailty–ah yes,

“Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day.” 2 Corinthians 4:16

I have found that if I wake up and I’m sore my first thoughts are towards grumbling. In those moments of those days I am lacking joy. I’m grateful this temptation is now on my “radar” so to speak–its in those moments I need to remind myself that my joy should be found in the Lord. So that was my prayer this morning as I went upstairs after exercising to begin my time in the Word. “God, I’m stiff today. Please help me find my joy in you and not my circumstances.”

How kind of God to show me the below passage! Ben and I have been reading through the minor prophets of the Bible and we finished up Habakkuk today. I was so blessed by finding this “jewel” at the end of the chapter.

“17 Though the fig tree should not blossom, nor fruit be on the vines, the produce of the olive fail and the fields yield no food, the flock be cut off from the fold and there be no herd in the stalls,18 yet I will rejoice in the Lord;I will take joy in the God of my salvation.19 God, the Lord, is my strength;he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places.” Habakkuk 3:17-19

What a wonderful reminder! Regardless of my life’s circumstances I can rejoice in the Lord–He is my strength and the God of my salvation. Thank you, Lord.

 

Leave a Reply

