A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 31, 2009

Filed under: CCC,God,Mommy-ing — adayinthelifeofaross @ 1:44 am

Before the Throne of God Above

So Ben has this uncanny knack of getting songs in my head. He only has to hum or whistle or sing a few notes and it will be in my head for the rest of the day, or until he replaces it with a new song. We joke I’m easily brain washed by him 🙂 Well, this morning he chose a good song, a song we sing from church entitled “Before the Throne of God Above.” This is one of my favorite songs because not only are the lyrics amazing, but the melody is so majestic that anyone singing it sounds wonderful! Even me, who currently has lost her voice and is all froggy. Maddie and I were singing it around the table at lunch time today and I actually entered into quite a worshipful moment pondering the truth of these rich words. It ties in perfectly to the study I’m doing in Hebrews. Jesus…Thank You!

Before the throne of God above I have a strong and perfect plea,
a great High Priest whose name is Love,
who ever lives and pleads for me.
My name is graven on his hands, my name is written on his heart;
I know that while in heav’n he stands no tongue can bid me thence depart,
no tongue can bid me thence depart

When Satan tempts me to despair,
and tells me of the guilt within,
upward I look and see him there who made an end of all my sin.
Because the sinless Savior died,
my sinful soul is counted free;
for God the Just is satisfied to look on him and pardon me,
to look on him and pardon me.

Behold him there! The risen Lamb,
my perfect, spotless righteousness;
the great unchangeable I AM,
the King of glory and of grace!
One with himself I cannot die,
my soul is purchased by his blood;
my life is hid with Christ on high,
with Christ, my Savior and my God,
with Christ, my Savior and my God.

 

Leave a Reply

