A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

January 28, 2010

Filed under: Adoption,Family,God,Mommy-ing,Selah — adayinthelifeofaross @ 8:26 pm

6 Months In…A Mommy’s Reflection:


So it’s been six months that our lives have been graced with Selah Marie’s presence. 6 months that we’ve been a family of 5. 6 months of being adorned with a new ‘label’. Did you know we are officially and technically a “Blended Trans-racial” family now? “Blended” in that our family consists of both biological and adopted children. “Trans-racial” in that our family consists of different races. It’s interesting. Before Selah came into our family I wondered how our family would adjust to this change. I practiced gracious responses to rude or insensitive questions that I may get at the grocery store or while out. I read blogs and message boards from families who were already in the midst of this life. Mostly, I prayed that God would give us the grace and wisdom to raise a family that brought Him glory. I can honestly say, though only 6 months in, I don’t think much about that whole “blended trans-racial” part. I think I am more consumed with being a family of five! Or with trying to get all three kids in and out of the grocery store with everything on my list, in my cart, and back at home in peace! And I think God has indeed poured out His grace to us. I think the majority of strangers who ask of questions are just curious about how our family came to be, or are curious about adoption in general, or just think Selah is super cute. And I’m okay with that. Besides, Selah is super cute. As I think on this last half of a year I am overwhelmed by God’s kindness towards us. As I look at our three children, I am overwhelmed that He would entrust Ben and I with their lives, their care, their shepherding. Each child a blessing. Madelyn has been asking questions recently about when I was pregnant with her and AJ. And she often wonders why Selah didn’t get to grow in my belly. Just again today she asked it. There is always a tinge of sadness. Sometimes I do wish Selah grew in my belly. But God always quickens gratefulness towards His plan. No, Selah did not grow in my belly, but she grew in my heart. And I’m ever so grateful for the woman who carried her in her womb until she came home to us. Our story as a family may be simpler now, only 6 months in. Maddie’s questions are simple ones that require simple answers. Many of the deeper conversations won’t come for a few years, I’m sure. Maybe we will be more aware of our new “label” as the years go on. But I know for sure God will be just as kind and give just the right amount of grace and mercy.

 

5 Responses to “”

  1. megan Says:

    Thanks for inviting us watch as God grows and changes your family for His glory. Such a beautiful thing!

  2. Michelle Says:

    Well said dear friend, well said! And I ditto just about all of it myself! What a gift and blessing adoption is…to ALL involved! And a picture of God's adoption of us into his family! I love you and rejoice in 6 amazing months as a family of 5!!

  3. suzannah Says:

    what a lovely meditation, kelly!beautiful family. beautiful heart.

  4. Mimi Says:

    Well said, Kelly….God is indeed kind !…xox

  5. AMEN!! Thank you for sharing that beautiful post, Kelly.


Leave a Reply

