A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 10, 2010

Filed under: Mommy-ing,Recipes,Seasons — adayinthelifeofaross @ 6:33 pm

Cooking Up a Snowstorm

Like most people in the northeast, we are totally snowed in. For some reason snow storms always get me in the mood for some real comfort food and chocolate goodness. And not the South Beach kind…

Last week we made a half a batch of Chocolate Chip cookies. Only a half batch because we were trying to behave and enjoy in moderation. 🙂 And this time around, we were all craving Spaghetti and Meat Sauce and Chocolate Cake. One of the fun adventures for me during Snow Storm Baking and Cooking is to be resourceful–goodness, I can’t go out to any stores right now! So, when I discovered I had no spaghetti sauce I hit the pantry and cookbooks. First of all, none of my cookbooks had a recipe for homemade meat sauce! Crazy! So, I found an oldie I had inherited somewhere along the line, Amy Vanderbilt’s Complete Cookbook. I know nothing about Amy Vanderbilt, but I am determined now to find out because she gave to me the best meat sauce Ben and I have ever had. And it used so few ingredients and was so very easy to make, so, on behalf of Amy and I, enjoy…

“Meat Sauce for Spaghetti”
1 (4 oz.) can of sliced mushrooms (I didn’t have these so I omitted it)
3 T. butter or margerine
1/4 lb. ground beef (I used a turkey and lean beef mixture)
1 T. chopped peeled onion
1 slice peeled garlic (I used approx. 2 T of minced garlic–we love garlic here)
2 T. flour
1 c. milk
1/4 tsp. basil ( I used a bit more than this)
1/8 pepper
1 (6 oz) can of tomato paste
1/2 tsp. salt

Drain and chop mushrooms. Save liquor. Melt 2 T. butter or margarine in large heavy saucepan. Add meat, mushrooms, onion, and garlic. Cook, stirring constantly, over moderate heat until meat is browned and onion is tender. Add remaining butter. (Oops, I added it all in the beginning, oh well!) Stir in flour smoothly. Pour in milk, stirring vigorously. Add basil. Cook and stir until thickened. Add pepper and tomato paste. Cook and stir continually. Add salt if needed. (It is) If sauce is too thick, thin with mushroom liquid. Makes 2 cups sauce.

Serve over hot spaghetti, macaroni, and other pasta. Sprinkle (or ‘pour’ if you are A.J.) top with grated parmesan.

While I type this our Chocolate Cake is cooking in the crock pot. Yes, CROCK POT. I have never attempted this before so I will not post the recipe yet. If it totally bombs and then you try it and bombs, I would feel bad. We’ll see how it turns out, but the title is “Hot Fudge Sundae Cake.” Doesn’t that sound delicious? It’s a recipe from the Rachel Ray magazine. I’ll keep you posted.

I really hope we stop getting these snow storms, if for no other reason, I probably shouldn’t be eating so much chocolate 🙂

 

5 Responses to “”

  1. It sounds like snow storms make you cook and bake like me! You should try pumpkin custard in the crock pot – it's just as good as in the oven, but minus the crust of course. Hey, maybe this way of cooking is beneficial for food budgeting ala FPU? It helps you use what you have instead of going to the store 🙂

  2. It sounds like snow storms make you cook and bake like me! You should try pumpkin custard in the crock pot – it's just as good as in the oven, but minus the crust of course. Hey, maybe this way of cooking is beneficial for food budgeting ala FPU? It helps you use what you have instead of going to the store 🙂

  3. It sounds like snow storms make you cook and bake like me! You should try pumpkin custard in the crock pot – it's just as good as in the oven, but minus the crust of course. Hey, maybe this way of cooking is beneficial for food budgeting ala FPU? It helps you use what you have instead of going to the store 🙂

  4. Kelly Says:

    I know, Keri! I thought Dave would be proud 🙂 I should definitely try pumpkin custard…I think I have the ingredients for that too!!!

  5. Becky Says:

    I made spaghetti and meatballs last night too! Here's a way to make even FASTER sauce. Do you like pesto? I make it in the summer and then freeze it, but you can buy it (it can be a tad pricey). But, it already has basil, garlic, etc in it! So I threw it in with just a can of tomatoes and voila.


Leave a Reply

