A Day in the Life…

Just another WordPress.com weblog

And then He Turned Four… February 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — adayinthelifeofaross @ 2:17 am

How did this happen?  How did my two year old suddenly turn four?  It really does feel like it all happened so fast.  FOUR years with our Anderson Jay! FOUR! Wow.  This Momma really can’t take it in 🙂

We had a wonderful day celebrating our dear A.J.  This kid makes us laugh–he had the hardest time deciding what kind of cake he wanted me to make.  First it was Cowboy.  Then it was a Ninja cake.  Then it was a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle cake.  Then it was “I’m really sure it will be a Cowboy cake.”  Then all of a sudden, out of the blue, he firmly decided on Pirate. I have secretly wanted him to choose a pirate theme for the past 6 months now because I had ideas of pirate cakes.  I had no idea for what to do for a cowboy or ninja cake.  God was kind 😉 So we went for the Pirate theme.  I love trying to plan a special cake for the kids but its always a bit of a nervous time for me.  This time, while I had AJ’s cake cooling, cut in half (on purpose :)) on the cooling rack, one half some how flew into the air and landed on the floor!  In three big chunks!  I was so glad I had just cleaned the floor because there was no way I was throwing that cake away and starting over!!!  And actually, when you put lots of icing over chunks of chocolate cake, it really kind of works 🙂

The morning of his birthday AJ requested, what else, but GREEN pancakes and BLUE bacon.  Sadly, I didn’t know how to make bacon blue, so he said that was okay, as long as the pancakes were really green.  And they were. I should have taken a picture of that.  It was sort of hard to get past the color. But AJ loved them.

The birthday child also gets to choose the dinner on their birthday. AJ chose CAKE. Yes, cake for dinner.  So we did 🙂

But before dinner we went to Ballocity.  It’s this great new kids ball pit/tubes/slides place. We had a blast!

I love birthdays for so many reasons, but most of all, I love having a day that we set aside to thank God for the blessing of that particular person.  AJ has been such a blessing in my life.  There have been challenges, as all parents can agree to in raising a child, but the joys and the blessings far outweigh any challenge.  This boy has a special place in my heart and I love the bond that God has created between us.  He is my bestest cuddler.  He is so sweet and so loyal.  He is 100% passionate, for good or for bad.  And he is so creative, bright, clever, witty, and just adorable.  We thank God for our Anderson Jay Whitefield Ross and simply cannot imagine our lives without him.

Happy birthday buddy boy! Momma loves you!

 

 

3 Responses to “And then He Turned Four…”

  1. megan Says:

    so sweet. What a big boy!

  2. Audrey Says:

    Great job honoring A.J., Kelly…..He is such a blessing and I cannot believe that four whole years have gone by since he first entered your family. Those cupcakes were seriously amazing!

    Love you and love your little Roo!

  3. Danielle Says:

    You did a wonderful job on that pirate cake, broken peices and all-I have done that gluing back together with icing before :). Happy Birthday AJ!!
    Wow-four years old already
    !


Leave a Reply

